Leadership Style vs. Value System 領導風格與價值體系的抉擇

(附中文) This was the first time that I completely changed my mind in the class discussion at HBS. The protagonist successfully turned around companies, but he was extremely emotional at work. At first, I thought I wouldn’t work for him because our purposes of leadership were so different: he only cared about the corporate/industrial transformation while I also cared about the happiness of people around me. Surprisingly, after listening to his speech, I felt very inspired by his passion at making things happen. At that moment, I started thinking that if I preferred working for people who had similar leadership style like me or who owned similar value systems like me?

For me, the formation of value systems takes a long time, and it’s almost impossible (and very dangerous) to change people’s value systems. On the other hand, we can always stretch ourselves to be more flexible working with people having different leadership styles, and sometimes it can even be our competitive advantages at work. Hence, my answer to the dilemma would be only working for people who have the same value systems as you do. Push one step further: even in a relationship, two people can have pretty different personalities, but they must have similar value systems to ensure long-term happiness. How do you think?

今天是我第一次在討論課中全然改變想法!個案主角成功挽救數家公司,卻是個非常情緒化的老闆。一開始,我認為他只在乎公司和產業轉型,不在乎我非常重視的員工幸福,相異的領導目標讓我不想為他工作。然而在聽完他的現場演講後,我卻深深地被他的熱情和執行力感動!此時我開始思考:究竟該為「擁有相似領導風格的人」工作?還是為「擁有相似價值體系的人」工作?

對我而言,一個人的價值體系生成需要非常久的時間,幾乎不可能(也很危險)改變。然而,我們卻時常能夠變得更包容且有彈性來和不同領導風格的人合作,甚至這樣的能力還會成為職場競爭優勢。因此在「價值體系」和「領導風格」的選擇中,我會選擇價值體系的一致性!進一步推廣至人生伴侶的選擇,兩個人可以擁有非常不同的個性,但必須抱持相似的價值體系,才能確保長期的幸福。你說是嗎?

Leave a Reply

