See the Aurora in Yellowknife 到黃刀鎮看極光

(附中文) After ten years, landed in Canada again and checked the northern light on my bucket list! Yellowknife is the only city in the northern Canada. Due to the stable weather and perfect location, Yellowknife is one of the top places to see the northern light.

The night was like a black velvet tufted with countless diamonds, providing the aurora the best stage cyclorama. Sometimes, the aurora covered the velvet tranquilly while shooting starts kept running across it. Sometimes, the aurora split into colorful ribbons and danced fiercely. Green, white, red… There’s no single color that can describe the beauty of aurora, just like there’s no single word that can describe how grateful and blessed I feel tonight.

When seeing the colorful aurora dancing fiercely in the dark sky, I surprisingly found the inner peace I lost for a while again. Actually many things had happened since I moved to the U.S., and I did need a break to understand myself again and make adjustment as needed. Six long-haul flights, two nights with spectacular aurora and countless moments doing nothing but thinking simply made me feel the excitement of being alive again. In addition, the beauty of nature always reminds us of the insignificance of human beings.

“I can be by myself because I’m never lonely; I’m simply alone, living in my heavily populated solitude, a harum-scarum of infinity and eternity, and Infinity and Eternity seem to take a liking to the likes of me.” — Too Loud a Solitude

睽違十年再次踏上加拿大的土地,終於完成長久以來想看極光的心願!黃刀鎮是加拿大北部地區的唯一城鎮,由於氣候相對穩定且位於極光帶內,故為全球最佳極光觀賞地之一。

看到極光的當下,真是無法言喻的感動與驚喜!黃刀鎮的天空像鑲滿鑽石的絨布,提供極光最棒的舞台佈景。有時極光寧靜地佈滿整片天空,而流星們爭相劃過天際;有時極光又如同色彩繽紛的彩帶,妖嬈多姿地在天空跳舞。這真的是2016年最幸運的一晚!

當看到多彩極光漫天飛舞的畫面時,心裡有種深深的平靜感。其實搬來美國後的這段時間經歷了很多事情,終於有機會能好好靜下來重新了解自己、嘗試做出改變。六趟長途飛行、兩個極光相伴的夜晚、無數個純粹思考的時刻,都讓我再次對活著本身充滿期待。又或許是再次體會到世事的微不足道吧!

有機會我們一起去看極光吧:)

Leave a Reply

