Reflection on Leadership Philosophy 領導哲學的反思

(附中文) Leadership is my favorite course in the first semester at HBS. Here is my reflection of the core values in my leadership philosophy that I will bring with me after HBS.

Understand the context before make judgement

I was so surprised that how people’s past experiences influenced their perspectives in the class, and I just realized that a large amount of disagreements actually came from the difference in backgrounds rather than the difference in personalities.

Therefore, I want to keep reminding myself of being more patient in understanding the context of people’s backgrounds and the overall environment before jumping to conclusions. Hope no one around me will feel that they are judged without solid reasons and careful assessment (when “no judgement” is impossible).

Assume the good intentions of others while also protect myself well

Due to my family and personalities, it would be easier for me to assume the good intentions of others. However, I sometimes become too naive and hurt myself as well as others easily. The innocence prevents me from having the deep understanding of the real world and humanity, leading to unrealistic assumptions and actions.

Hence, I am trying to find the good balance between being kind and being realistic, and at the same time, I will also keep adjusting it as needed. I believe a truly benevolent and wise person is someone who can view the world positively and realistically.

Have a flexible leadership style for different situations

In the semester, I recognized the responsibilities of leaders to bring out the best of myself and others, unlocking the true potential of human power. Sticking to a certain leadership style will limit the range of people leaders can work with as well as the broadness of work leaders can handle.

As Confusion said that a person should not be confined to anything, I want to be the one who is flexible and willing to adjust while still being true to myself.

Picture: Tony Mayo was my Leadership professor! Love him so much!

領導學是我這學期在哈佛最喜歡的一門課!以下跟大家分享從這門課中,我最想從HBS帶走的領導哲學。

先了解背景、再下判斷

在這學期的個案討論中,我非常驚訝過往經驗對每個人的觀點影響至深,而我也才領悟到原來很多的相異觀點都源自於背景的差異、而非個性的差異。因此,未來我希望能夠持續提醒自己:在下判斷前,必須有耐心地了解他人經歷和總體環境!希望周遭的人都能夠覺得我所下的判斷是有憑有據的。

假設他人的善意、同時保護自己

因為家庭與個性的因素,我比較容易假設他人的行為是出於善意。然而,太過天真的想法卻時常輕易傷害自己與他人,並且妨礙我對真實世界和人性有更深層的理解。因此,我會嘗試在善良和務實間取得平衡、時時調整改進。相信一位真正慈悲而有智慧的人,是能夠以正面卻實際的角度看待世界的。

針對不同情形,展現具彈性的領導風格

這學期,我開始意識到領導者的責任是帶出最好的自己和最好的別人,讓彼此發揮最大潛能。僵固於單一的領導風格會侷限領導者可以帶領的團隊、可以勝任的工作。如同孔子說的:「君子不器」,我希望能夠成為有彈性、願意調整自己卻又同時保有真我的人。

圖片:Tony Mayo是我領導課程的教授,也是這學期我最喜歡的教授!

Leave a Reply

