Political Correctness at HBS 哈佛商學院的政治正確問題

(附中文) Most people perceive that HBS has a serious issue on political correctness, but I feel in the opposite way, so I would like to share my thoughts on how we can mitigate the problem together.

【Educate me】

Bringing up opinions different from the mainstream would be super beneficial to others to understand the issue from other perspectives. Hence, as an ignorant person for so many topics in my whole life, I would really appreciate that you share thoughts with me, so I can understand the real world better. Though I might not change my mind, it’s always great to know there are some different thoughts that we should take into consideration when making decisions!

【Be confident】

In my opinion, political correctness issue can not only be solved in environmental level, but also in personal level. Most people feel reluctant to bring up different opinions due to (1) afraid of being judged and criticized or (2) tend to avoid heating debate. However, I truly believe all of us are mature enough to handle the conversion and build up mutual-respect in the process regardless if we reach an agreement or not. Therefore, be confident both in yourselves and in the people around you!

【Disagreement =/= political correctness issues】

One of the most important lessons at HBS is that we don’t need to agree with each other and also don’t need to seek agreement with others (it’s not a company!) Even if we end a conversion without reaching an agreement, we still appreciate all the debates and thinking processes. Hence, I don’t think that people expressing their disagreement means that they expect to have the political correct answers from you. It’s really an open environment for all of us to say “I disagree”!

I really want that my friends can enjoy lives at HBS, so I keep thinking on how to make others happier and feel more meaningful. Hope this sharing can shed some light on how to improve the situation and why I think it’s not an environment with political correctness issues. Extremely happy to discuss! Challenge me! Educate me!

多數HBS的學生認為校園內有「只能發表政治正確言論」的問題,所以我寫下這篇與大家分享我的看法。

【教育我】

提出不同的意見絕對能夠讓周邊的人受益,因為這給予我們機會從不同角度思考問題。從小到大,我知道自己在某些部分一直是個很無知的人,所以特別感激有人願意跟我分享看法、讓我更了解這個世界!雖然我不一定會改變心意,但知道有其他面向是我們必需納入考量的,本身就是一件很棒的事情阿!

【有信心】

對我而言,政治正確的問題不僅需要從環境層面解決,也要在個人層面有所改變。多數人不願分享不同意見的顧慮包含 (1) 害怕被評論或批評 (2) 希望避免激烈的爭辯。然而,其實無論最終是否達成共識,我相信我們都足夠成熟去面對辯論、並在過程中建立互相尊重的態度。請對自己有信心、也對別人有信心!

【不同意見=/=政治正確問題】

HBS教我最重要的一堂課就是我們不需要同意別人、也不需要尋求共識(又不是公司!)縱使討論到最後沒有共識,我們仍然感激這樣的辯論與思考過程。我不認為當別人表達他們的反方意見時,就代表他們期待一個政治正確的解答;HBS是個開放的環境讓每個人都能說「我不同意」!

因為我真的很希望我的朋友們可以享受在HBS的生活,所以我一直在想該怎麼讓大家更快樂、覺得更有意義。希望這篇能夠傳達我對改善政治正確問題和為什麼我覺得HBS不是有這樣問題的環境的看法。誠心希望能夠有更多的討論~彼此挑戰、持續學習成長!:D

Leave a Reply

